BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
nikknock
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

Just wondering if there is a command that will make SAS ignore any blank fields in a table I imported from Excel? For example, when I run a Proc Freq, I don't want SAS to count or analzye any blank fields at all, any way I can do this? I'm a SAS newbie.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Amir
PROC Star

Hi,

If you want to keep your original data unchanged then as said you could use a where clause in your proc freq statement so that the blank fields are not considered at all for analysis, e.g.:

proc freq data=have(where=(var1 ne ''));

The following proc freq details might also be of help with respect to missing values:

Base SAS(R) 9.2 Procedures Guide: Statistical Procedures, Third Edition

Regards,

Amir.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
data_null__
Jade | Level 19

Are you referring to variables with missing values for all observations?

nikknock
Calcite | Level 5

For each column (variable) there are blanks fields, but which ones are blank vary from variable to variable. I want to tell sas to ignore the blanks when I'm analyzing a variable. Don't count them, don't do anything. Is there a way to do that?

Amir
PROC Star

Hi,

If you want to keep your original data unchanged then as said you could use a where clause in your proc freq statement so that the blank fields are not considered at all for analysis, e.g.:

proc freq data=have(where=(var1 ne ''));

The following proc freq details might also be of help with respect to missing values:

Base SAS(R) 9.2 Procedures Guide: Statistical Procedures, Third Edition

Regards,

Amir.

Zin
Fluorite | Level 6 Zin
Fluorite | Level 6

Easiest option(s) would be to remove the observations:

A)  from the dataset before running your proc freq.

B) using a where filter in your proc freq.

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User