BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jchiefs1101
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am trying to figure out how to identify observations with a variable code of 391; however, some observations have a code of 0391, which has a different meaning in this database. This is probably a silly question, but I am new to SAS so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks so much!

6 REPLIES 6
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:
Can you do a PROC CONTENTS on the data set and tell whether your variable of interest is character or numeric? If numeric, then these 2 WHERE statements would work the same:
WHERE numvar = 0391;
or
WHERE numvar = 391;

On the other hand, if you have a CHARACTER variable, then there is a difference between the string '391' and the string '0391'. Here's a program you can run to illustrate that point.

data testdata;
  infile datalines dlm=',';
  input numvar charvar $;
datalines;
;
run;

ods select variables;
proc contents data=testdata;
  title '1) How are variables defined';
run;

proc print data=testdata;
  title '2) where with NUMVAR';
  where numvar = 0391;
run;

title '3) alternative with NUMVAR';
  where numvar = 391;
run;

title '4) check CHARVAR';
  where charvar = '0391';
run;

title '5) alternative with CHARVAR';
  where charvar = '391';
run;

Note that in the TESTDATA data set, the same value is read as character and as numeric and then used with a WHERE in PROC PRINT. Reviewing the output shows the difference in numeric and character variables.

cynthia

jchiefs1101
Calcite | Level 5
It is numeric; however, could i simply do a string if-then statement specifying = '391' ? Would that work?

Thanks so much!

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Run my program and look carefully at the rows selected by print #2 and print #3. In some instances, SAS will do an automatic conversion if you do this: