BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
RCPenguin
Calcite | Level 5

data ranksum; input serum $ race;

datalines;

94      0

54      1

31      0

21      1

46      1

56      0

18      1

19      1

12      1

14      0

25      0

35      1

22      1

71      0

43      1

35      1

42      1

50      1

44      1

41      0

28      0

65      0

31      0

35      1

91      1

;

run;

proc print; run;

proc npar1way wilcoxon correct=no data=ranksum;

class race;

var serum;

exact wilcoxon;

run;

Note: I am very new at using SAS and I am assuming the naming I used for the data has screwed up how the program is interpreting it.  I am attempting to do a Wilcoxon Rank-Sum test on the distribution of serum estradiol.  Any help would be appreciated as I am just a commoner and a foreigner when it comes to programming and writing :smileyblush:

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

The $ above tells SAS to import it as a character variable. Remove that, and it will import it as numeric and your analysis will run. If anything race should be the character variable.

data ranksum; input serum race $;

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
stat_sas
Ammonite | Level 13

Hi,

Serum is an analysis variable. You are using it as character variable instead of numeric.

Reeza
Super User

The $ above tells SAS to import it as a character variable. Remove that, and it will import it as numeric and your analysis will run. If anything race should be the character variable.

data ranksum; input serum race $;

RCPenguin
Calcite | Level 5

That would make more sense I guess I got a bit confused on what the $ was even denoting.  Thank you for the quick help!

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.