Help using Base SAS procedures

ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Accepted Solution Solved
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 59
Accepted Solution

ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Hello everyone,

I am trying to run this code:


proc logistic descending data = dir.liseuro_d;

model treat = cap /lackfit outroc = ps_r;

output out= ps_p XBETA=ps_xb STDXBETA= ps_sdxb PREDICTED = ps_pred;

run;


But I get back an error message about Java.

I reinstalled Java but it's still not working. I have SAS 9.3 (32)


ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

ERROR: The Java proxy's JNI call to start the VM failed.

ERROR: Unable to load the Java Virtual Machine. Please see the installation instructions or

       system administrator.

ERROR: Unable to load the Java Virtual Machine. Please see the installation instructions or

       system administrator.

Here are the details of Java:

12   proc options option=jreoptions;

13   run;

SAS (r) Proprietary Software Release 9.3  TS1M2

JREOPTIONS=(             -DPFS_TEMPLATE=C:\Program

Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\tkjava\sasmisc\qrpfstpt.xml

-Djava.class.path=C:\PROGRA~1\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\SASLAU~1.JAR

-Djava.security.auth.login.config=C:\Program

Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\tkjava\sasmisc\sas.login.config

-Djava.security.policy=C:\Program

Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\tkjava\sasmisc\sas.policy

-Djava.system.class.loader=com.sas.app.AppClassLoader

-Dlog4j.configuration=file:/C:/Program%20Files/SASHome/x86/SASFoundation/9.3/tkjava/sasmisc/sas

.log4j.properties

-Dsas.app.class.path=C:\PROGRA~1\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\tkjava.jar

-Dsas.ext.config=C:\Program

Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\tkjava\sasmisc\sas.java.ext.config

-Dsas.jre.libjvm=C:\PROGRA~2\Java\JRE16~1.0_2\bin\client\jvm.dll

-Dtkj.app.launch.config=C:\PROGRA~1\SASHome\SASVER~1\picklist          -Xms128m

-Xmx128m           )

                   Java Runtime Environment options

Any idea how to fix it??


As always, thank you very much.



Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎09-27-2016 04:48 PM
New Contributor
Posts: 3

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

[ Edited ]

Editor's note:  For SAS 9.2 and SAS 9.3 installs on a Windows system, a Java proxy error or “unable to load the Java virtual machine” error typically occurs when the –Dsas.jre.libjvm argument in the JREOPTIONS parameter in the SAS configuration file (ie, the SASV9.CFG file) points to an incorrect or non-existent install of the Java JRE.

The solution below provides the correct value that needs to be placed in the config file for the Dsas.jre.libjvm argument. 

 

Sorry I see you are using SAS 9.3 not 9.4

 

To resolve install Java version 7 then -

  In the Windows Start Menu, search for “notepad”, you should get the Notepad application as one of the top results. Right-click it and choose “Run As Administrator”.

 

 

For SAS 9.3, In Notepad, open the following file: “C:\Program Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\nls\en\sasv9.cfg”. This is the SAS configuration file that controls many settings for SAS operation.

 

Amend the line of text startin with Dsas.jre.libjvm to -

 

Dsas.jre.libjvm=C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\bin\client\jvm.dll

View solution in original post


All Replies
New Contributor
Posts: 3

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Hi,

I suffered the same issue. With SAS 9.4 you have to manually point the Java settings to the correct location. So providing that you installed SAS 9.4 cleanly then copying and pasting the following settings into your sasv9.cfg file should work

/*  Options used when SAS is accessing a JVM for JNI processing  */

-JREOPTIONS=(

        -DPFS_TEMPLATE=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\tkjava\sasmisc\qrpfstpt.xml

        -Djava.class.path=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASVersionedJarRepository\eclipse\plugins\sas.launcher.jar

        -Djava.security.auth.login.config=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\tkjava\sasmisc

\sas.login.config

        -Djava.security.policy=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\tkjava\sasmisc\sas.policy

        -Djava.system.class.loader=com.sas.app.AppClassLoader

        -Dlog4j.configuration=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\tkjava\sasmisc\sas.log4j.properties

        -Dsas.app.class.path=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\tkjava.jar

        -Dsas.ext.config=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\tkjava\sasmisc\sas.java.ext.config

        -Dsas.jre.libjvm=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASPrivateJavaRuntimeEnvironment\9.4\jre\bin\server\jvm.dll

        -Dtkj.app.launch.config=C:\Program Files\SASHome\SASVersionedJarRepository\picklist

        -Xms128m

        -Xmx128m

        Files\SASHome\SASPRI~1\9.4\jre\bin\server\jvm.dll

        Files\SASHome\SASPRI~1\9.4\jre\bin\server\jvm.dll

        Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\SASLAU~1.JAR

        Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\SASLAU~1.JAR

        Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\tkjava.jar

        Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\eclipse\plugins\tkjava.jar

        Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\picklist

        Files\SASHome\SASVER~1\picklist

        )

Senior User
Posts: 1

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Posted in reply to SASkicker

I tried the changes to my config file shown below and it made things worse.  My program logs "occasionally" show the Java proxy not responding error but not always.  Seems to be getting more frequent lately.  I have 4 Windows PC's running batch jobs with SAS 9.4.

 

I don't get the errors when running interactively, except I did get the Java Proxy error immediately when I tried to the solution shown below.

 

Thoughts anyone?

Solution
‎09-27-2016 04:48 PM
New Contributor
Posts: 3

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

[ Edited ]

Editor's note:  For SAS 9.2 and SAS 9.3 installs on a Windows system, a Java proxy error or “unable to load the Java virtual machine” error typically occurs when the –Dsas.jre.libjvm argument in the JREOPTIONS parameter in the SAS configuration file (ie, the SASV9.CFG file) points to an incorrect or non-existent install of the Java JRE.

The solution below provides the correct value that needs to be placed in the config file for the Dsas.jre.libjvm argument. 

 

Sorry I see you are using SAS 9.3 not 9.4

 

To resolve install Java version 7 then -

  In the Windows Start Menu, search for “notepad”, you should get the Notepad application as one of the top results. Right-click it and choose “Run As Administrator”.

 

 

For SAS 9.3, In Notepad, open the following file: “C:\Program Files\SASHome\x86\SASFoundation\9.3\nls\en\sasv9.cfg”. This is the SAS configuration file that controls many settings for SAS operation.

 

Amend the line of text startin with Dsas.jre.libjvm to -

 

Dsas.jre.libjvm=C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre7\bin\client\jvm.dll

Occasional Learner
Posts: 1

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Posted in reply to SASkicker

Thank you!!!

New Contributor
Posts: 2

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Posted in reply to SASkicker

Hi-I am having this same issue and followed the trouble shooting steps to this point, but there is no config file in that folder.  Where do I find a new one?  I am running 9.3.  The other folder points correctly to this file as the location of the file.

 

Here is information about Java-

C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.8.0_77\bin\client>java -version
java version "1.8.0_77"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_77-b03)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 25.77-b03, mixed mode)
.....
 Directory of c:\

04/16/2016  12:23 PM    <DIR>          PROGRA~1     Program Files
04/16/2016  01:05 PM    <DIR>          PROGRA~2     Program Files (x86)
               0 File(s)              0 bytes
               2 Dir(s)  13,093,875,712 bytes free

Frequent Learner
Posts: 1

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Posted in reply to SASkicker

Thank you so much! Your explanation saves me!

Frequent Learner
Posts: 1

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Posted in reply to SASkicker

Thank you. It solved the problem.

Super User
Posts: 10,209

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

have you verified that C:\PROGRA~2\Java\JRE16~1.0_2\bin\client\jvm.dll exists?

If not, take a look at

SAS(R) 9.3 Companion for Windows

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Maxims of Maximally Efficient SAS Programmers
How to convert datasets to data steps
How to post code
Learner
Posts: 1

Re: ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.

Posted in reply to KurtBremser

I am not sure if this thread is being monitored, but I have tried everything else I can think of. 

I have the dreaded msg

ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.
ERROR: The Java proxy's JNI call to start the VM failed.
ERROR: Java failed to start during the SAS startup.

I am working with SAS Support.  No luck there yet.

I have tried by my count at least 5 different JREs.

I have the following code which I execute after every mod to the config file, which I have modified 30x plus

%put &sysparm;
%put &sysscpl;
%put &sysvlong;
%put &sysaddrbits;
proc options option=CONFIG; run;
proc options option=JREOPTIONS; run;
proc javainfo; run;

 

The last suggestion was try jre6_181.  That did have one noticeable impact.  My program no longer hangs when in runs 'javainof' which under ever other version it did (hang - permanently).  But it still comes back with an error

last lines of log:

.....

-Dtkj.app.launch.config=C:\PROGRA~1\SASHome\SASVersionedJarRepository\picklist          -Xms128m -Xmx128m           )
Java Runtime Environment options
NOTE: PROCEDURE OPTIONS used (Total process time):
.....
ERROR: The Java proxy is not responding.
ERROR: The Java proxy's JNI call to start the VM failed.
ERROR: Proc javainfo did not run correctly.

 

Notes:

1. the 181 version that I was given to use has no client directory.  Just Server and the jvm is in there, so its what I am pointing to.  The sas system is finding it I think, based on the output of the rest of the log. I dont think this is related to the issue, because the 4+ other variants of JRE all did have client directories and they all had the same basic problem.

2. this platform is running windows 2008 data center

3. I have a local install on my PC running under Windows 7 Enterprise, which of course is working perfectly

 

Any words of wisdom or support would be appreciated.

☑ This topic is solved.

Need further help from the community? Please ask a new question.

Discussion stats
  • 9 replies
  • 17046 views
  • 3 likes
  • 9 in conversation