Help using Base SAS procedures

ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

Accepted Solution Solved
Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88
Accepted Solution

ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

Hello;

I just installed SAS 9.4, but it seems that I can not run timeseries procedure on it. The title of the post is exactly the error message I get, below is the exact code I am running.

Did I mess something during the installation process?

Thanks in advance

data one;

       input invest income consum @@;

    datalines;

       180 451  415  179 465  421   185 485  434   192 493  448

       211 509  459  202 520  458   207 521  479   214 540  487

       231 548  497  229 558  510   234 574  516   237 583  525

       206 591  529  250 599  538   259 610  546   263 627  555

       264 642  574  280 653  574   282 660  586   292 694  602

       286 709  617  302 734  639   304 751  653   307 763  668

       317 766  679  314 779  686   306 808  697   304 785  688

       292 794  704  275 799  699   273 799  709   301 812  715

       280 837  724  289 853  746   303 876  758   322 897  779

       315 922  798  339 949  816   364 979  837   371 988  858

       375 1025 881  432 1063 905   453 1104 934   460 1131 968

       475 1137 983  496 1178 1013  494 1211 1034  498 1256 1064

       526 1290 1101 519 1314 1102  516 1346 1145  531 1385 1173

       573 1416 1216 551 1436 1229  538 1462 1242  532 1493 1267

       558 1516 1295 524 1557 1317  525 1613 1355  519 1642 1371

       526 1690 1402 510 1759 1452  519 1756 1485  538 1780 1516

       549 1807 1549 570 1831 1567  559 1873 1588  584 1897 1631

       611 1910 1650 597 1943 1685  603 1976 1722  619 2018 1752

       635 2040 1774 658 2070 1807  675 2121 1831  700 2132 1842

       692 2199 1890 759 2253 1958  782 2276 1948  816 2318 1994

       844 2369 2061 830 2423 2056  853 2457 2102  852 2470 2121

       833 2521 2145 860 2545 2164  870 2580 2206  830 2620 2225

       801 2639 2235 824 2618 2237  831 2628 2250  830 2651 2271

       ;

  run;

    data simul1;

      set one;

      date = intnx( 'year', '01jan1900'd, _n_-1 );

      format date year4.;

   run;

  

proc timeseries data=simul1 vectorplot=series;

      id date interval=year;

      var invest consum;

   run;


Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎12-05-2014 04:20 PM
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

The SAS package was not installed correctly, had to ask the IT staff to re-install the complete package. Problem resolved.

View solution in original post


All Replies
Super User
Posts: 19,789

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

Time series is part of the ETS package which you may not have a license to.

Run

proc setinit;run;

If you SAS/ETS listed then you do have a license and missed something in the install.

Otherwise you don't have a license to it.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

I ran the setinit procedure, I have the SAS/ETS package installed, I re-did the installation, there is no errors during the process, yet I still get the same error message. I can not also access the datasets in a sashelp library. Does it mean that there is something wrong with the local directory in which SAS stores some of its procedures and datafiles?

Respected Advisor
Posts: 3,156

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

There are two factors here: Licensed  vs Installed. A particular SAS product (SAS/ETS eg.) could be in one of the four status: 1.  Licensed  AND Installed 2.  Licensed  AND NOT Installed 3.  NOT Licensed  AND  Installed 4.  NOT Licensed  AND NOT Installed. Smiley Happy

For license info: proc setinit;run;

For Installation info: PROC PRODUCT_STATUS;RUN;

Hope this helps,

Haikuo

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

Thanks for the response

I ran the PROC PRODUCT_STATUS;RUN; this is what I get:

For Base SAS Software ...

   Custom version information: 9.4

   Image version information: 9.04.01M0P061913

For SAS/STAT ...

   Custom version information: 12.3 (maintenance)

For SAS/GRAPH ...

   Custom version information: 9.4

For SAS/ACCESS Interface to PC Files ...

   Custom version information: 9.4

NOTE: PROCEDURE PRODUCT_STATUS used (Total process time):

      real time           0.80 seconds

      cpu time            0.03 seconds

But for the proc setinit;run; I get this:

System birthday:   17SEP2013.

Operating System:   WX64_WKS.

Product expiration dates:

---Base SAS Software

                           31AUG2014

---SAS/STAT

                           31AUG2014

---SAS/GRAPH

                           31AUG2014

---SAS/ETS

                           31AUG2014

Does this mean that the product is licensed but not installed? Shall I contact my company's tech support who ordered SAS for me to place an additional order or it has already been paid for and the problem is with installation?

Respected Advisor
Posts: 3,156

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

Does this mean that the product is licensed but not installed?

YES.

Shall I contact my company's tech support who ordered SAS for me to place an additional order or it has already been paid for and the problem is with installation?

YES , you should contact your boss and have whoever installed SAS for you fired. Just kidding. Yeah, talk to your tech support, have them to install this part for you, using SAS deployment manager, installation should be a piece of cake. It should be shipped already, located in the "depot". It does not require another order or delivery from SAS.

Good luck,

Haikuo

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

I asked the Technical staff to help me with this, we unistalled SAS and re-installed it and during the installation process, made sure the select SAS ETS. the closest option was ETS for JUMP. Still no luck! we will contact SAS and ask for their help. This is really frustrating, I have been working with SAS for many years now and this is the first time that this happens!

Trusted Advisor
Posts: 3,212

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

Since 9.3 you are getting a SID file that one is describing your specific installation according your license. Within that one the old setinit is imbedded.

When this SID file is not consistent you can get a difference on installed and licensed components.

In the very old days it was possible to select SAS prodcuts using some CD's. That has changed as now it using is a installation depot.

The depot should have been buildup using all involved SID files.

For the sake of reliability and simplicity it would be smarter to install all components and limit the use by the setinit.

Sizing/storage on this application/program should not be the biggest issue. In that case one (limited several) would fit for all,

Release management however is a big issue, requirements with testing and fallback are common. IT looks to be you have a standalone approach.

When SAS-base is installed, it is spread in a lot of different directories (look for SAShome). What to do with that:

- one of them is kept with all installed parts. there is way to print/list that information.  (ETS) should be there.

- you can run a SAS job that should produce results for all the products the same as was done at SAS .

  This won't help you to validate your programs and SAS. It will tell you something of the copy process (deployment wizard)

- there is also a configuration part containing an autoexec.sas and config.sas. The config.sas should refer to your installation .

  When a wrong config.sas is involved you can get strange results. Some people are really changing that in a wrong way. 

---->-- ja karman --<-----
Solution
‎12-05-2014 04:20 PM
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 88

Re: ERROR: Procedure TIMESERIES not found.

The SAS package was not installed correctly, had to ask the IT staff to re-install the complete package. Problem resolved.

🔒 This topic is solved and locked.

Need further help from the community? Please ask a new question.

Discussion stats
  • 8 replies
  • 2824 views
  • 6 likes
  • 4 in conversation