BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
feltonjm
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am not new to SAS but I am by no means an expert.  I am working with a new dataset and trying to creating some new variables using the "if-then" statement.  However, when I do this, I keep getting the same error with each step.  I can't figure out what I am doing wrong -- I haven't had this problem before using these steps.  Please help! 

Here is the code I am using:

data=work.allmdsurgeons1;
set=work.allmdsurgeons;
if residency = 0 then res_type = 0;
else res_type= 1;
run;

In the log after I run this, under each line I get "ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order."  I don't know why this is happening for the data step and the set step.  If someone could help I would really appreciate it!  Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

Your IF/THEN statements are fine.  However, DATA and SET statements don't use an equal sign.  Change the equal sign to a blank character for those two statements.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Astounding
PROC Star

Your IF/THEN statements are fine.  However, DATA and SET statements don't use an equal sign.  Change the equal sign to a blank character for those two statements.

feltonjm
Calcite | Level 5

Wow, I feel so stupid. Thanks for the help!

ballardw
Super User

With errors it is usually a good idea to paste the code with error messages. To preserve the formatting of the error messages paste them into a code box opened with the {I} menu icon on in the header of the message box on the forum. Such as:

494  data=work.allmdsurgeons1;
     ----

ERROR 180-322: Statement is not valid or it is used out of proper order.

495  set=work.allmdsurgeons;
     ---

496  if residency = 0 then res_type = 0;
     --

497  else res_type= 1;
     ----

498  run;