BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
GDA
Calcite | Level 5 GDA
Calcite | Level 5
I'm just starting to learn SQL/PROC SQL so hopefully this is an easy question to answer. I want to take the values from one
SQL statement and use them in another. I am using an "INTO" statement because it's handy at creating a delimeter. However
when I need to use the "IN" statement in my where clause I need to concatenate the (' to the front and the ') to the end. I thought
it would be straightforward but I seem to get some sort of error no matter what I put in there.

My Example below
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
proc sql;
select ID INTO :ID_VAR SEPARATED BY ''',''' from DB_RECORD WHERE FAMILY = 'ProductX';
QUIT;
%put &ID_VAR;
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
this yields &ID_VAR as

ID1','ID2','ID3','ID4

I then want to be able to query another database table with the contents of the &ID_VAR concatenated
with (' on the front and ') on the back so that it works in my IN clause

proc sql;
select runtime, equipment from DB_PROCESS WHERE ID IN xxx;
quit;

Obviously i'm looking to create xxx. Maybe I'm going about this wrong but it seemed easy at the time.
Please help me as I'm a noob.
3 REPLIES 3
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Check out the QUOTE function. It will put double quotes around your variable's value. I had this example sample that uses SASHELP.CLASS.

If you used the QUOTE function, then you wouldn't have to worry about the parentheses ... they really belong to the WHERE and the IN operator anyway. You don't have to concatenate them to the list of names (or in your case, IDs) because macro variable substitution will plop the list of quoted names between the parentheses in the WHERE clause.

cynthia
[pre]
proc sql noprint;
select quote(trim(name)) INTO :want_name SEPARATED BY ","
from sashelp.class
WHERE age ge 15;
QUIT;
%put &want_name;

ods listing;