BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
beginner
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, I'm new to SAS, and apologize if this question has been asked elsewhere.  I have been searching previous messages for this type of work and couldn't find what I wanted.  I have a dataset that contains multiple rows per patient.  I'd like to combine all the rows for each patient, and also create an additional column with a count of how many rows were combined. 

So, for example, I'm starting with a dataset that looks like this:

patient          fruit          color

patientA          apple          red

patientA          banana          red

patientA          mango          red

patientB          apple          blue

patientC          cherry          green

patientC          grape          green.

And I want to reorganize into a dataset that looks something like this:

patient          count          fruit_1          fruit_2          fruit_3          color

patientA          3          apple          banana          mango          red

patientB          1          apple          (blank)          (blank)          blue

patientC          2          cherry          grape          (blank)          green.

Thank you in advance for your help.  I have been struggling with this for days, trying combinations of different lines I've been piecing together from searches.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Try this:

data have;
input patient $ fruit $ color $;
cards;
patientA apple  red
patientA banana red
patientA mango  red
patientB apple  blue
patientC cherry green
patientC grape  green
;

proc transpose data=have prefix=fruit_ out=trans(drop=_name_);
by patient color;
var fruit;
run;

proc freq data=have noprint;
tables patient / out=cnt(drop=percent);
run;

data want;
merge trans cnt;
by patient;
run;

proc print data=want;
var patient count fruit_: color;
run;