BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jerry898969
Pyrite | Level 9
Using the following dataset I'm merging two tables together. My problem is I want the columns in a specific order and i'm not sure how to do this. I can't use the retain statement. I'm new to SAS so I'm trying to figure it out using the input and attrib statements. Will those two do it?

data addr ( keep = id numcase Title fName lName Address1 Address2 Apt ) ;
merge
addr ( in = a
rename=(r_Title=Title r_First=fName r_Last=lName r_Addr1=Address1 r_Addr2=Address2 r_AptNum=Apt)
)
UserInfo (in = b);
by numcase ;
if a and b ;
run ;

Thank you for any help
9 REPLIES 9
data_null__
Jade | Level 19
Why can't you use RETAIN?

[pre]
retain id numcase Title fName lName Address1 Address2 Apt;
[/pre]

would be placed before the merge statement and order the variables. The advantage over ATTIB or LENGTH is that you don't need to know about type and length. Since your data are already in SAS data sets, type and length are already established and need not be bothered with.
jerry898969
Pyrite | Level 9
_null_,
Thank you for the reply.

I was instructed my the powers that be to look into the Attrib and Length statements and not use retain. I was told there are other issues that could arise from using retain. I'm in a big time crunch to fully invetigate.

I do know the type and length of all my columns I'm just not sure at how to get it going without screwing up my merge statement.

Thank you again for your help and any other advice is greatly appreciated.

Jerry
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
The order of your SAS variables (as specified) does not impact MERGE operations. What is the specific reason (otherwise) do you need to have a particular SAS variable order, possibly for printing with some generic VAR statement (or none at all) specification in your SAS program?

Once again, as you mentioned, the RETAIN statement should be avoided at all cost, especially for something as subtle as variable ordering.