BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
GSRodney
Calcite | Level 5
I am wanting to use either PROC CLUSTER or FASTCLUS to determine if my data can be grouped and if so what is the best grouping. A colleague ran this for me on a different stat package using k-means dynamic for 10, 8,6,4,3,2 groups and so on. He took the output and plotted #groups vs the RMSE for each. where the line inflected represented the optimal grouping. When I run FASTCLUS or CLUSTER, I don't see RMSE to do a similar check. How or what do I use in the SAS output for these PROCs to determine when the cluster numbers is the best that it can be? Is there a metric to gage this with?

Thanks.
9 REPLIES 9
mjbstats
Calcite | Level 5
Hello GSRodney,

Are you still uncertain about these procedures? I am also. I am new to clustering and am also trying to "match" results using another software program. In the example I am attempting to match, several scenarios were run and the between/within cluster variance for each was calculated. Where those ratios seem to hit a point of diminishing returns (in that additional clusters does not differentiate clusters well enough anymore in comparison to the within-cluster variance), an optimal number of clusters begins to appear. Chosing the actual # of clusters is a somewhat subjective process.

BTW, the between/within ratios seem to have been calculated offline with Excel--my application involves fewer than 1,000 clustered values and only 1 dependent variable.

Anyway, if you have any additional insight on clustering analysis, measures for choosing numbers of cluster, and SAS procs, please share!

Thanks.
mjbstats
Calcite | Level 5
Hello GSRodney,