BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Eileen18
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, first off, I am new to cluster analysis and am still learning the appropriate methods to emply.  I am trying to divide a variable ("condition") with 300 levels  into clusters based on 1 numberical/continuous variable ("active_score"). Using proc cluster to start (code below) I am seeing that the y-axis of the dendrogram is unreadable as the labels are all on top of eachother (dendrogram image attached).  I was trying to find a way to space out the labels but unsuccessfully.. any ideas? It also might just be that proc cluster is not the best way to go (proc fastclus or proc varclus?) Again, I'm learning so might need to move to another procedure but still wondering if I can make it work to be able to adjust the y-axis to see what I have. I'm using SAS 9.4.  Thank you in advance!!

Proc cluster simple method=centroid rmsstd rsquare nonorm out=tree plots(maxpoints=1000);

id condition; 

var active_score; 

run; 

proc tree out=cluster nclusters=5 inc=10 ; 

id condition; 

copy active_score; 

proc sort; by cluster;

proc print; by cluster; 

var  condition active_score; 

run; 

5 REPLIES 5
Eileen18
Calcite | Level 5

thank you so much for your reply! I tried the below but it isn't working; nothing changed in the display.

Here is what I tried: I reviewed the computeheight option and tried increasing by a factor of 3 to start(?) and  changed the unit to inches.  Seems I'm missapplying the suboptions, but not sure what is wrong. I tried searching for an example that applied these suboptions and couldn't find one. Any suggestions for me? Thank you again very much! 

Proc cluster simple method=centroid rmsstd rsquare nonorm out=tree plots(maxpoints=1000)

plots=dendrogram(unit=in computeheight=3.12 .375)   ;

id condition; 

var active_score; 

run; 

WarrenKuhfeld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
proc cluster data=sashelp.mileages(type=distance) method=density k=3
   plots=dendrogram(ch=3 5 unit=in);
   id City;
run;