BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
MalcolmCICWF
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS and my skills are still abysmal at best. I am trying to work my way through Proc Transpose and I see frequent postings on it here in the forum. I was hoping someone could help walk me through my task so I better understand the Proc Transpose procedure. My data set that I am working with is as shown below.

Untitled.jpg

Just observing the highlighted record, I am trying to transpose the Month_YY columns by each Key variable. The 0's represent the payment for each month of that key and I want the months in a single column with each paymnet in the next column, all while keeping the rest of the record constant. I have an example below of what I am trying to achieve.

Capture.JPG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

proc transpose ;

by facevalue proceeds poolstart key portfpool trantype ;

run;

The variable _NAME_ will have the former variable names.

The variable COL1 will have the values.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

Assuming your data is sorted I'd probably go with a datastep. The link below is a good instruction. If you really want proc transpose that link is further below.

SAS Learning Module: Reshaping wide to long using a data step

You can use the vname function to capture the name of the array variable.

eg.

do i = 1 to dim(month_vars);

value=month_vars(i);

month=vname(month_vars(i));

output;

end;

SAS Learning Module: How to reshape data wide to long using proc transpose

The trick is to keep all the variables you want in your BY statement.

MalcolmCICWF
Calcite | Level 5