BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jan_t_lagen
Calcite | Level 5

This might be a long and stupid question...My goal is to either find a way to do what i want or understand why I can't/shouldn't do it.

I'm working on a project where I need to include some data steps inside a loop that I have created using IML. 

The reason for this is that i need to manipulate the data by joining, inserting new variables and summing in order to reduce the size of the matrix calculations. I also need to do this (in some way) within a loop as I'm sampling data for each iteration. Firstly, as I'm new to using IML, is there a reason why it is not possible to just insert a data step in the middle of my IML code? I don't think it would be impossible to recreate the steps I've done using IML but I'd rather not do it. Is there a way to do this?

To clarify I want something like this:

proc iml;
iter = 5;

do i=1 to iter;

/* proc surveyselect data...*/

/*data steps*/

/*import variables from last data step to vectors*/

/* matrix calculations */

end;

;quit;

It seems to work using a macro and looping outside i.e:

%macro func();

%do iter=1 %to 5;

/*data steps*/

proc iml;

/*import variables from last data step to vectors*/

/* matrix calculations */

;quit;

%end;

%mend;

%func();

I would like to avoid this however as it less similar to the method i'm trying to implement and not as intuitive (in a mathematical sense). And a more vain reason is that I hate that all the color coding disappears when working inside a macro... maybe this is removable?

thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

It sounds like you want to use the SUBMIT / ENDSUBMIT statements to call SAS procedures inside an IML loop.

I do this all the time. Some resources are:

1. Video about calling SAS procedures from SAS/IML

2. SAS/IML documentation

View solution in original post