BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
marygc
Fluorite | Level 6

I am a novice with GIS files, and was given my first SHAPE file as one of my inputs for my analysis investigation. The first thing I like to do is to get convert/input data to SAS format.  So I ran Proc Mapimport and now Have over a million records describing the boundaries and shapes for my 53K properties of interest. 

My SAS file contains data given to me describing one county in the US -which ought to match what I'd pull myself from SAS's Tiger Shape files from the census - but I wish to start with what my client sent me.    my SAS file shows me Parcel ID's with  x and y values.  But i do not know what sort of projection system SAS proc mapimport used to produce their geographic coordinate system

Mapping systems are complicated -- as I understand that one location on the ground will have many different latitude-longitude values depending on which geographic coordinate system is used.   does SAS have code to run to produce the geographic (datum) transformations to reconcile the x and y's to lat/longs

I am not clear on the dimension or unit of measurement that i starting with.  Found a conversion macro UTM2latlong  but when i input the x an y from proc mapimport,  the macro gave me values not in in the proper part of the US -- so i must not have started with X and Y (in meters).  when I look on the  ArcGIS website I see there are ways to export a raster to a netCDF file.    is that what I have ?  Raster cell values are exported as a netCDF variable? 

geez - this area is new to me - i am struggling simply to pose my question to this forum!  yikes!

3 REPLIES 3
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

First thing to try is to chose another UTM zone

%UTM2latLong(dsn,y=Y,x=X,zone=16N);

PG
Darrell_sas
SAS Employee

First, Proc MAPIMPORT just takes the same coordinates that was in the shapefile.  It just converts the shapefile into a SAS Date set.  (Note, you may need to use the ID statement.  See the doc and examples).