BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Quentin
Super User

Hi,

This is an annoyingly vague question, but wondering if people have experienced odd inconsistencies with using CURVELABEL to label a line in SGPLOT/SGRENDER.

I'm still new to statistical graphics, but seems like when I have a complex (?) plot, and a handful of lines labeled via CURVEVABEL, and I'm generating a bunch of plots, often one label seems to end up in some bizarre location.   I usually use curvelabeloc=outside, and sometimes I will have a label floating somewhere in the middle of the plot.  I'm running 9.3.1M2.

Because of these odd experiences, I've started avoiding use of CURVELABEL.  And instead I label the curves manually using SGANNO (for SGPLOT) or DRAWTEXT (for GTL).  When I do things manually, I get what I want, but of course it's a lot more work than just writing /CurveLabel.

It looks like CurveLabel may try to avoid overlapping labels.  So that could be part of the problem I guess, but when I've seen this happen, the label isn't even close to where it "should" be.

Now that it's a Friday afternoon and I have time to try to replicate the problem with a small example, of course I cannot.  So for now, just wondering if anyone else has experienced odd inconsistencies with CURVELABEL?

I don't want to give up on CURVELABEL too soon,.  So if nobody else has seen bizarrely positioned labels come from CURVELABEL, I will assume I'm doing something odd, and give it another shot the next time I'm developing a new batch of plots.

Thanks,

--Q.

BASUG is hosting free webinars Next up: Jane Eslinger presenting PROC REPORT and the ODS EXCEL destination on Mar 27 at noon ET. Register now at the Boston Area SAS Users Group event page: https://www.basug.org/events.
3 REPLIES 3
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ