BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
dr2014
Quartz | Level 8

Hi ,

I am new to ODS/graph and I want to create a bar chart on the individual values in a numeric variable. The values are rounded to the nearest 2nd decimal point and they pretty close in value to each other. There are 100 such values. I tried using the discrete option on proc gchart after vbar statement but I get a chart that is very crowded.  I want to know how to increase the chart area. Also, I am not sure if it worked since it was so crowded. Please advice . Unfortunately, I was not able to copy paste the data, graph or attach a file.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DanH_sas
SAS Super FREQ

I haven't seen your code, but consider using PROC SGPLOT instead (SAS 9.2 or greater). You will be able to use FITPOLICY=THIN to drop the crowded values. For example,

proc sgplot data=sashelp.heart;

xaxis fitpolicy=thin;

vbar AgeAtStart / response=weight stat=mean;

run;

Hope this helps!

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User

Use a browser other than IE to copy/paste code. You can attach a file with graphics as well.

DanH_sas
SAS Super FREQ

I haven't seen your code, but consider using PROC SGPLOT instead (SAS 9.2 or greater). You will be able to use FITPOLICY=THIN to drop the crowded values. For example,

proc sgplot data=sashelp.heart;

xaxis fitpolicy=thin;

vbar AgeAtStart / response=weight stat=mean;

run;

Hope this helps!

dr2014
Quartz | Level 8

Thanks DanH. Reeza I took your advice. I am going to try your sugesstion DanH and  the code I used was

proc gchart data=final;

vbar var1/discrete;

run;

Here is the data that I am working on and that's the graph I need. Would proc gchart work for this ? What can I do to manipulate the chart area /

var1

dr2014
Quartz | Level 8