BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
morglum
Quartz | Level 8

Hi SAS,

I am a total newbie to Proc GMAP and GIS in general.  I am trying to create some maps of Canada at the Province (PR), Census Division (CD), Census Subdivision (CSD) and Dissemination Area (DA) levels.  I would also like to add a population ecumene layer on top of the map in order to mask the unpopulated areas

The province map provided in SAS is outdated by almost 2 decades as it doesnt include the territory of Nunavut, created in 1999.  However, one can download the Cartography Boundary Files (CBF) from Statistics Canada

I have managed to import, project and map the Province/Territories data and have a satisfying result.  However, I get weird connecting lines when trying to map the imported "Population Ecumene" file.  The results are below.  Note the horizontal lines in the north west territories and through the Hudson Bay.

My code is shared below the images.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  My follow up question is as follow: I would like to have a map of the provinces, but blank out all the area where ECUMEN="0".

Cheers,

Simon

pridu.pngecumene.png

libname temp "c:\TEMP";

proc mapimport

out=temp.Ecu_nonproj

datafile="C:\maps\cBf\gecu000e11a_e\gecu000e11a_e.shp";

id ecuid;

run;

proc gproject data=temp.ecu_nonproj out=temp.ECU_proj eastlong deg

project=lambert;

id ecuid;

run;

goptions reset=all;

ods html path="C:\temp";

proc gmap data=temp.ECU_proj map=temp.ECU_proj;

id ecuid;

choro ecumene;

run;

quit;

ods html close;

*************************************;

proc mapimport

out=temp.prov_nonproj

datafile=""C:\Tmaps\cBf\gpr_000b11a_f\gpr_000b11a_f.shp";

id pridu;

run;

proc gproject data=temp.prov_nonproj out=temp.prov_proj eastlong deg

project=lambert;

id pridu;

run;

goptions reset=all;

proc gmap data=temp.prov_proj map=temp.prov_proj;

id pridu;