BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Natalie
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I'm very new with SAS ODS Graphics and I'm currently working on a Sacatter Plot using PROC SGPLOT and SCATTER.

The scatter plot itself worked fine, but now my Statistician wants me to show the mean values as a horizontal bar "-". 

I searched SAS and found, that the following SYMBOL names can be used:

markers.png

Is there any possibility to use other symbols in graphics?

Thank you in advance!

Natalie

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jay54
Meteorite | Level 14

The list you have included has all the marker symbols that can be used in SG and GTL. However, you can add a scatter plot with "-" as a symbol with the MARKERCHAR option.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
Jay54
Meteorite | Level 14

The list you have included has all the marker symbols that can be used in SG and GTL. However, you can add a scatter plot with "-" as a symbol with the MARKERCHAR option.

Natalie
Calcite | Level 5

Dear Sanjay,

thank you very much! 

It's a very nice option, I included it in my code now and all works perfectly Smiley Happy

Natalie

John70
Calcite | Level 5

Dear Natalie,

I have a similar situation, would you please tell me how to add the "-" on the scatter plot?

thanks

John

Natalie
Calcite | Level 5

Hi John,

there are actually only two steps, which are needed with MARKERCHAR-option.

First I added a new variable MEANSYMBOL in my input data set, which contains the character string to be displayed in the graph, in my case it is "-".  My data set looks like this:

treatment               mean    meansymbol

1                             8.5                -

2                             9.6                -

3                             7.5                -

Then in the PROC SGPLOT I set the MARKERCHAR=meansymbol