BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
NicolaD
Calcite | Level 5
Hi,

I'm very new to boxplots and stored processes, ok with SAS base programming (using 9.2) and ok with WRS.

We have an idea to show data as box plots in WRS, I understand this can be done via stored processes. I would need to show 2 boxplots overlaid, for the following type of data:

I have 152 areas that make up Country data and I want to show the spread of data for the Country, but this data is also split into comparator groups which comprise of 18 of the areas in each group.

In WRS we will have a report for each area and I want to have a horizontal box plot with the data for the whole Country and the data for the comparator group for that area overlaid. I also want to add a marker to show the value for that council too.

What I need to work out is which of the proceedures in SAS will be best for this - if it's possible to do, how do I save it as a stored process and what listing menthod should I use? Any help in these areas would save me a great deal of trial and error time (as I'm a bit up against it timewise) and would be gratefully received.

We do show other data using the same set up (i.e. Area, it's comparator group and country data) in bar charts quite sucessfully in WRS

Thanks
Nicola
9 REPLIES 9
GraphGuy
Meteorite | Level 14
Per the traditional SAS boxplots (either using proc gplot with the box interpolation, or using proc boxplot), you might could overlay 2 of them using "proc greplay". You would want to make sure that the axes and all the text (titles, footnotes, axis text, etc) are exactly the same in both overlaid plots, so they will overlay in the exact same location - the only thing you'll want to be "different" is the boxplot itself).

Are you certain you want the 2 boxplots overlaid, rather than side-by-side?
NicolaD
Calcite | Level 5