BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
toesockshoe
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS and have been struggling with learning it. Hopefully someone can help me with a task.

I'm trying to make a grouped bar chart. So I have a dataset with the following information:

idNumber: id number of the student

gradeLevel: grade in high school... takes values of freshman, sophomore, junior, and senior.

plansToGoToCollege: binary indicator indicating whether the student plans to go to college (1 if yes,0 if no).

dataset is called collegeSurvey

I'm trying to make a bar charrt plotting the 0's and 1's of the plansToGoToCollege variable segmented by gradeLevel. Something that looks kinda like the picture below (which is just a random picture I found from google).

So I'd have 4 different x values (fresh, sophomore, junior, and senior)... each x value has 2 bars (0 and 1), and the y axis would measure the frequency of the occurrence.

gradeLevel is of type character

plansToGoToCollege is numeric

zy22e.png

12 REPLIES 12
ballardw
Super User

I think you're looking for something similar to:

proc sgplot data=collegesurvey;
  vbar gradelevel /group=planstogotocollege groupdisplay=cluster;
run;

You might want bookmark this as one source of graphs with pictures and example SAS code including data.

http://support.sas.com/sassamples/graphgallery/index.html

toesockshoe
Calcite | Level 5

thanks! I did that and it plotted the frequencies.... I'm wondering if theres a way change that to percentages. So if there are 150 0's and 50 1's for freshman, how do I change it do 75% and 25%?

toesockshoe
Calcite | Level 5

type wont show up as option though

Reeza
Super User

@toesockshoe wrote:

type wont show up as option though

I don't know what that means.

toesockshoe
Calcite | Level 5

Here is the error I get

ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: ;, ALPHA, ATTRID, BARWIDTH, BASELINE, BASELINEATTRS, CATEGORYORDER,