BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
motiv3
Calcite | Level 5

Hey everyone!

This is my first time on this forum so please let me know if you require any further information on the matter.

Basically, I am a hospital physician conducting an experiment looking into whether a glucose meter used heavily within our Department complies with the newly released guidelines. Now part of the new guidelines states the requirement of a Parkes Error Grid for all new meters i.e. they must demonstrate accuracy using this grid (Consensus error grid - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia). Now I've looked into the grid itself e.g. read the original article and it seems to be an alteration of the original Clarke Error Grid. However, the new Parkes grid has different regions and so I am struggling to make such a graph using SAS; this is only worsened with my lack of experience using this tool! Therefore, I was wondering whether any of you kind people could help me with this matter. I have the paper that provides an outline of the co-ordinates for each region yet, once again, I am kind of stumped on how to approach this.

Thank you for your help.

24 REPLIES 24
Jay54
Meteorite | Level 14

At SAS Global Forum 2013, the paper #113-2013 - Creating Clark Error Grid using SAS/GRAPH and Annotate... by Yongyin Wang and John Shin of Medtronic Diabetes discussed using Annotate to create the Clarke Error Grid.  Later, I wrote a Blog article on creating a similar Clarke Error Grid Graph using the SGPLOT procedure, without any Annotation.  Between these two resources, you should be able to find the information you need for your use case of the Parkes Error Grid.  Personally, I would go with the SGPLOT case.

In the SGPLOT case, the grid itself is created simply using the Series Plot statement.  The points for the series are defined in the data as vertices of the plot.

motiv3
Calcite | Level 5

Hey Sanjay,

Thank you for the help, I will try this out later on tonight.