BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
pmusale
Calcite | Level 5

Hello

I am new to SAS and am in the learning phase. I encountered a code, part of it is pasted below:

ods html;

goptions reset = all border

ctext = CX000000 ftext = "MS Sans Serif" htext = 8pt

colors = (color1     color2     color3     color4

color5     color6     color7     color8

color9     color10    color11   color12);

axis1 minor = none label = ("random");

axis2 minor = none label = ("pdf_x");

order = (0 to 0.4 by 0.02);

symbol1 line =1 ci=CX0000FF     cv=CX0000FF     value = dot     width =1      height = 6 pt

interpol = needle;

color1 to color12 are in code formats, for simplicity I have written color1-12 here

I checked help for various statements here. I have following question:

1. colors statement has 12 colors specified in it. What I understand is that we define colors using this statement. However I am not able to understand how do we use these colors? I mean where would be color1 used, wherer would be color2 used and so on. Do we have to specify these colors again somewhere in the code?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GraphGuy
Meteorite | Level 14

That's sort of the "old school" way to specify colors in SAS/Graph.  You give it a list of colors, and then the colors are consumed "as needed".  There are very few cases where you would need to use a goptions colors=() list these days.  I think of these color lists as being analogous to the pens in a pen-plotter.

In more modern SAS/Graph, you can specify colors more directly (using symbol statements for gplot, and pattern statements for gchart, etc).

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
GraphGuy
Meteorite | Level 14