BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
bendsteel6
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I'm a novice with GMAPs and I'm trying to create a Us/Canada chart with bars (values to be determined by the data) for particular cities in both US and Canada.  I'm finding the USCITY_ALL dataset in the MAPSGFK library works well for mapping to US cities.  Is there a similar map for Canadian cities?  ...Or is there another way to do it for Canada that I'm not aware of?

Thanks!

14 REPLIES 14
Reeza
Super User

What version of SAS do you have?

If you're 9.3+ I think you need to be using MAPSGSFK instead?

And you can download some custom files from here : http://support.sas.com/rnd/datavisualization/mapsonline/html/home.html

bendsteel6
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

I'm using the MAPSGSFK one.  Still didn't see a table that had the Canadian cities.  Is there one?

Thanks.

Reeza
Super User

Did you check the link? It has a sources that is available, one with city locations including 218 Canadian cities. I don't know if that would encompass your list of cities. You probably already know, but there are specific definitions for City/Town/Summer Village/Special Area etc. 

I don't know what you're trying to do, but Statistics Canada has a lot of SHP files available here:

http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2011/geo/bound-limit/bound-limit-2016-eng.cfm

And depending on where you work, you may have access to a file called PCCF that maps postal codes to a latitude and longitude. 

If you're looking for basic lat/long for Canadian Cities you could probably wrangle one of the StatCan files into what you need. 

And SAS provides code/process if you purchase the lookup table from zipcodedownloads.com

bendsteel6
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

The link provided seems to point me to the MAPSGFK library, and to the WORLD_CITIES table.  This works for a lot of my data but I have many cities that don't show up in the WRLD_CITIES table, not sure why:

AJAX            ON
AYR             ON
DARTMOUTH       NS