BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
dr2014
Quartz | Level 8

Hi All,

I created a histogram which has values for variable 'xyz' up to the 9th or  10th decimal point.  I have copied the code below. The  x-axis shows values up to the 4th decimal point (which is what I want in the display as it looks presentable). But, I think the code also approximates the values to the 4th decimal point to create the bars. In certain examples , the values of 'xyz' are so similar to the 4th decimal point that it just gives me a single bar. I am new to SAS/GRAPH. Could you suggest what options  I could use to create graphs for values upto the 10th decimal point but display them on x-axis upto the 4th decimal point. Please advice. Thanks !
This is my code :

It's a generic code that seeks the minimum and maximum value of the field field i.e for xyz, the minimum value is represented my the macro &xyzmin and the maximum value by &xyzmax

ods graphics on / reset=index imagename = "image_histogram.”;

proc sgplot data=outcome;

histogram estxyz/binstart=&xyzmin.

binwidth=0.5;

xaxis values=(&xyzmin. to &xyzmax. by 2)

valueshint;

run;

Here is the data for 'xyz' that displays a single bar in the histogram. Please ignore the observation numbers in the table below. Also I have 10,000 such observations.

xyz

1. 2.053560486
  2. 2.05358304
  3. 2.053586672
  4. 2.053595518
  5. 2.053620218
  6. 2.053622878
  7. 2.053629565
  8. 2.053634162
  9. 2.053636113
  10. 2.053640661
  11. 2.053642102
  12. 2.053652491
  13. 2.053655273
  14. 2.053658328
  15. 2.053664305
  16. 2.053666429
  17. 2.053668664
  18. 2.053673135
  19. 2.053673347
  20. 2.053680921
  21. 2.053681324

Here is the graph I get based on the present code

16 REPLIES 16
ballardw
Super User

I think your setting of BINWIDTH is involved. Setting it to .5 says the largest-smallest value within a bin will be .5. ALL of the data you show are within .5.