BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mbloem
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm working with unevenly-spaced timeseries data from IoT devices. I'm new to SAS and had previously been using the Pyton traces package for handling this data.

One handy thing that traces enables is "simple analyses of unevenly-spaced time series data without making an awkward / lossy transformation to evenly-spaced representations." For example, if I wanted to know when any of a set of IoT devices were in an "on" state (do a logical OR), I could do that very easily with traces Timeseries objects - without first converting the data to a evenly-spaced representations and without writing any custom code to implement the logical or based on the uneven time steps. 

Does SAS have any capabilities for directly performing simple analyses on unevenly-spaced time series data?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Here is the approach I would use to perform simple operations with base SAS coding:

/* Example data */
data t;
input timeStamp :datetime20. devId :$8. state;
format timestamp datetime17.;
datalines;
13SEP2016:01:01:00 A 0
13SEP2016:01:01:10 A 1
13SEP2016:01:01:11 A 0
13SEP2016:01:01:55 B 1
13SEP2016:02:20:00 A 1
13SEP2016:02:30:00 C 0
13SEP2016:02:33:00 B 0
13SEP2016:04:01:00 A 0
13SEP2016:05:01:00 C 1
13SEP2016:05:12:00 C 0
13SEP2016:05:23:00 C 1
13SEP2016:05:35:00 B 1
13SEP2016:06:00:00 A 1
13SEP2016:06:01:00 A 0
;

/* Get the list of devices */
ods output SQL_Results=devFmt;
proc sql number;
select unique devId, "devFmt" as fmtname, "I" as type 
from t;
select cats("v_", Row, "=", quote(compress(devId))) 
    into :devList separated by " " 
from devFmt;
quit;

proc format cntlin=devFmt(rename=(devId=start Row=label)); run;

/* Accumulate device states and perform simple operations */
data wide_t;
set t;
label &devList.;
retain v_:;
array _v v_:;