BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
baimeeker
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm fairly new to SAS.  I'm using Forecast Studio 12.1 for a Forecast Value Add analysis of another system's forecasts.  I'd like to know how SAS forecasts the MAE for intermittent demand forecasts.  For example, the Holdout MAE for one of my forecasts was 0, the forecast was 1 for all four cycles, and the holdout values were 0 2 0 2.  By my calculation this means the MAE is 4, but the 0 is a better representation of how well the forecast is doing.  What is the exact calculation for MAE that SAS is using?  I'd like to use the same calculation for my other system.  I think it is grouping together multiple weeks of demand into one "demand qty" for the forecast accuracy, but I'm not sure how it decides which weeks to group.  Is it based on a forecast "demand frequency" or on the actual next demand?

I've attached the SAS forecast studio guide definition of MAE.

2016-03-29 13_03_33-SAS Forecast Studio 12.png
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
alexchien
Pyrite | Level 9

The forecasts showing in MAE2 image are not the forecasts used to compute holdout MAE. Holdout samples are used for model selection. To be specific, all candidate models are first built based on the data excluding the holdout samples.Forecasts are then be generated for the holdout samples to compute the holdout MAE. The model with the smallest MAE will be selected as the winning model. The winning model is then re-estimated using the entire dataset (assuming BACK option is disabled). Of course you can pick a different forecast error measurement for model selection. Hope this helps.

Alex

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
udo_sas
SAS Employee

Hello -

From SAS Forecast Server Procedures 14.1: User's Guide ("Forecasting Process Details"):

"Time-Indexed versus Demand-Indexed Holdout Samples