BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
KACJohnson
Calcite | Level 5

Hello SAS Procedures Community,

I would like assistance with syntax for specifying "Zero-Order" and "First-Order" transfer functions for interrupted time series ARIMA models. Specifically, what is the code I would use for: (1) the abrupt, permanent change (zero-order), versus (2) gradual, permanent change (first-order)? I am trying to compare pulse, zero-order, and first-order functions to determine if the introduction of a migration policy at point t (the year 2001) is characterized by a abrupt, temporary impact (pulse), an abrupt, permanent change (zero-order), or by a gradual, permanent change (first-order) on visa issuances.

I also wonder if the way I have the dates set up is correct, respectively? (I.e. what would be the temporary shock from 2002 to 2007? Or a permanent change after 2001?)

I'm very new to the ARIMA procedures and I have combed the SAS boards, guides, and examples for proper syntax. This is what I have come up with:

Pulse (temporary): where variable "temp" is coded as 0 prior to and after the event, and 1 during the temporary event ("000111000").

data a;

set a;

temp = (date = '2002'd, '2003'd, '2004'd, '2005'd, '2006'd, '2007'd);

run;

proc arima data=a;

identify var=f crosscorr=temp;

estimate p=1 q=1 input=temp;

run;

??? (permanent): where the variable "perm" is coded as 0 prior to the event (2001), and 1 after the event ("0000011111")

data a;

set a;

temp = (date >= '2002'd);

run;

proc arima data=a;

identify var=f crosscorr=perm;

estimate p =1 q=1 input=perm;

run;

Thank you all for helping a newbie, I appreciate all the help and feedback.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
dw_sas
SAS Employee

Hi KACJohnson,