BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
rodman1231
Calcite | Level 5
I am new to the SAS administration game. We just got our very first SAS Analytics Pro server online. However, I am having an issue with flat files opening in SAS EG. I have several users that have to grab datasets from our national mainframe. These datasets are often between 1-3gb in size. They usually encompass 1 full year of data related to the programmer's study project. The process includes the following:

1)The programmer writes a JCL sequence to query and extract the data set from the mainframe to a holding server. The dataset comes out as a flat transport file.
2)After extraction, the programmer pulls the transport file across our national network back to one of our local servers (usually via FTP).
3)After the file has been moved to our servers the programmer attempts to open the file in an EG session by either using a PROC Copy script or by doing a straight open procedure (File, Open, Data) from the File menu.

It here the process bombs. I know that there are easier ways to do this because I administer systems for a living. But my organization is a government agency and where there is government there is often red tape and inefficiency. This is not a show stopper but I need to get it to work. My heavy programmers are looking at years of data in one run so converting the transport files into something the EG can use will greatly increase performance. SAS is running on the following system:

Dell Poweredge 2950
*32GB RAM
*1.8TB native storage with SAS 15K H/Ds
*2 quad core Intel 5950 processors
*SAN-connected to Dell/EMC CX3-20 Clarion SP with 9TB native storage, 4GB FC backplane

SAS Platform
*SAS Analytics Pro (SAS Base 9.1.3 Network Version) (the latest vesion)
*Graph
*Stat
*Access/PC Files
*Access/ODBC
*QC
*ETS
*Intergration Technologies
*Enterprise Guide 4.1

Any help in licking this one would be greatly appreciated.
14 REPLIES 14
deleted_user
Not applicable