BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
JeffM
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I have a data set of product sales and pricing that is sorted by product by week. I want to create a data step that "looks back" 12 weeks from the current week and selects the maximum price for that product. The 12 week "look back" period would then move forward as the data step progresses.

Is this possible?

Also, i'm NOT a sas coder. Simple data steps are my speed.

Jeff

11 REPLIES 11
Reeza
Super User
Do you have a license for SAS ETS? If so, PROC EXPAND can do this quite easily. You can check what products you have by using the following code and checking the log:

proc product_status;run;
JeffM
Fluorite | Level 6
I use SAS-EG and I am not familiar with SAS language. I want to create a process in EG and plug a data step in the middle.
Reeza
Super User
There's a set of time series procedures in EG under tasks, did you try there first? If you have SAS/ETS these tasks will do what you need.
JeffM
Fluorite | Level 6

I actually AM programming....just a data step.  I am not writing the whole thing in code.  The rest of the process will be all queries.  I have extensive experience with VBA so I understand what's going on.  I just don't know the SAS language.

Reeza
Super User
And I'm going to move this post to the EG section, since you're not programming.
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

"Also, i'm NOT a sas coder. Simple data steps are my speed."

EG point&click doesn't create a lot of SAS data step code so I'd say using SAS data step in a code window is coding.

Having said that: If you can't use the ETS tasks then you still could use the query builder.

With the query builder:

1. left join your source table with itself

2. select all variables from the left table

3. create a computed column using avg_price from your right table with a formula like: max(t2.avg_price)

4. Tick box "select distinct rows only"

5. the join condition needs to be something like: