Desktop productivity for business analysts and programmers

Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Accepted Solution Solved
Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Accepted Solution

Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Hi All-

I'm trying to read an input file via the Import Wizard, but I am receiving the below error on Step 3 of 4, "Define Field Attributes":

error.JPG

The input file is a macro-enabled excel worksheet (.xlsm). I confirmed that the file is not open and not in use, and when I tried the import on another person's machine, I did not receive this error.

Does anyone know what the source of this error might be?

Thanks so much!

Travis


Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎03-28-2013 01:28 PM
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9

Re: Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Hi, Not sure if your issue has been resolved. You may have compatibility issues meaning if SAS is 64 bit and the Office that you are running is 32 bit. I know in such a situation you normally receive "Class not registered" or Excel engine not found" messages.

Try checking the Excel version and if different from SAS version try Installing 64 bit Office 2010 to match your version of SAS .

Try the following links in the order given

http://www.office.com/office64setup

Or

The following links involve more steps using PC Server Files with Import Wizard

http://support.sas.com/kb/44197

Or

Iinstalling a SAS PC File server which provides a bridge between 32 bit Office and 64 bit SAS.

http://support.sas.com/kb/43802

View solution in original post


All Replies
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7

Re: Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Hi, maybe you don't have permissions to reade/write this file. Try to change permissions.

Solution
‎03-28-2013 01:28 PM
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9

Re: Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Hi, Not sure if your issue has been resolved. You may have compatibility issues meaning if SAS is 64 bit and the Office that you are running is 32 bit. I know in such a situation you normally receive "Class not registered" or Excel engine not found" messages.

Try checking the Excel version and if different from SAS version try Installing 64 bit Office 2010 to match your version of SAS .

Try the following links in the order given

http://www.office.com/office64setup

Or

The following links involve more steps using PC Server Files with Import Wizard

http://support.sas.com/kb/44197

Or

Iinstalling a SAS PC File server which provides a bridge between 32 bit Office and 64 bit SAS.

http://support.sas.com/kb/43802

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6

Re: Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Sas4ml,

Thanks so much for the info, the error was due to compatibility issues between Office and SAS.

I was able to use the bridge as a temporary solution, and am in the process of upgrading Office to match my version of SAS.

Many thanks for the help!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15

Re: Import Wizard Error - Data Source Cannot be Accessed

Use this command for importing excel in SAS

libname test Pcfiles  Path="Physical location ";

It will resolve all problem and easily connect the excel file .

the easiest way .

☑ This topic is SOLVED.

Need further help from the community? Please ask a new question.

Discussion stats
  • 4 replies
  • 381 views
  • 1 like
  • 4 in conversation