BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Omnislash
Calcite | Level 5
HI, I am new to SAS and just finished install.

I added a few libraries through SAS/Access ODBC in Base SAS and I can access the external Oracle tables just fine. However, when I bring up EG and expand local libraries the added libraries are not there. How can I see and access the added libraries?

Thanks in advance!

Message was edited by: Omnislash Message was edited by: Omnislash
3 REPLIES 3
Patrick
Opal | Level 21
How did you add these libraries? In the Metadata using SMC?
Or did you just run a piece of code in your PC SAS session?

SAS EG creates its own session on the server (also on the local one).
You either have to run the libname statements from within your EG session or define them as Metadata or you add the libname statements to the autoexec (best the one which will be picked up by all servers).

HTH
Patrick
Omnislash
Calcite | Level 5
I take it SMC is SAS Management Console? I will be a business user but I have to assume the responsibility of an IT administrator due to the lack of resources.

I looked up SMC on their website, it says it manages library and server definitions, and metadata repositories. I opened up SMC but not sure how to add libraries from an external Oracle database.

Our data access engine is SAS/Access ODBC, what I did in Base SAS was I went to "Tools" and "New Library", and added a few libraries through SAS ODBC connecting to external Oracle databases defined under Windows ODBC Administrator on my local machine. The result is whenever I launch a new session the added libraries are always there and I can access all the tables in them.