Desktop productivity for business analysts and programmers

How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

Accepted Solution Solved
Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 99
Accepted Solution

How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

So whenever I click ctrl+s, I keep getting this prompt. It has become a habit of me to save from time to time, so it feels weird to have the prompt each time I do this.

 

Thanks!

 

 

Capture.PNG


Accepted Solutions
Solution
‎02-21-2017 12:06 AM
SAS Super FREQ
Posts: 271

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

You can avoid the prompt in versions prior to 7.12 by using Ctrl+Shift+S (saves the program you are working on) rather than Ctrl+S (saves the project).

View solution in original post


All Replies
Senior User
Posts: 1

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

Hi,

 

You can go to Tools> Options> Data General

 and uncheck(turn off) the option ‘Always prompt when closing a project with temporary data references'. It may occur that data is not saved when the EG is accidently closed. Please make sure that you save the changes frequently which you already do.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 99

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

This doesn't solve the problem though.

SAS Super FREQ
Posts: 271

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

Prior to EG 7.12, the Ctrl+S keyboard shortcut saved the EG project (which you can see on File menu), but did not automatically save changes in externally referenced files.  EG would then prompt you (as in your screenshot) to save any unsaved changes in any open external programs.  We agree, this was not intuitive behavior.  You expect Ctrl+S to immediately save what you are working on, no questions asked.

 

Starting in EG 7.12, we improved this behavior.  Ctrl+S is now a more intuitive, contextual save.  So, if you are working with an external program and press Ctrl+S, it saves the program file, without prompting (as you would expect).  If you are working with an embedded program, Ctrl+S saves the project (since embedded programs are saved within the EG project).  In addiion, we added a Save All operation, which saves the project and any open files.

 

So, to get rid of the prompt, I suggest upgrading EG to the latest version (7.13).

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 99

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

Is there any way to disable the prompt for EG 5.1?
It can take sometimes to ask for the company to upgrade the system.
Solution
‎02-21-2017 12:06 AM
SAS Super FREQ
Posts: 271

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

You can avoid the prompt in versions prior to 7.12 by using Ctrl+Shift+S (saves the program you are working on) rather than Ctrl+S (saves the project).

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 99

Re: How do I disable the prompt when I save with ctrl+s on Entreprise Guide?

Works perfectly. Thank you.
☑ This topic is SOLVED.

Need further help from the community? Please ask a new question.

Discussion stats
  • 6 replies
  • 132 views
  • 1 like
  • 3 in conversation