BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ckx
Quartz | Level 8 ckx
Quartz | Level 8

I've been using SAS since 1985 and like many experienced programmers, I have several issues with Enterprise Guide. Here's my list of things SAS Institute could do to make EG a better environment for programmers:

• Add batch mode support
    Chris Hemedinger provides a VBScript for running EG in batch mode, for which I'm very grateful. But I'd prefer a more robust solution that bypasses EG altogether, providing maximum execution speed and with options to kill or cancel a job.
  • Add a global macro variable with the full path of a syntax file.
    The file name of the syntax file is available as &_CLIENTTASKLABEL (in single quotes, at least at our site) but there's no way to determine the file path. For clincal studies, some Standard Operating Procedures state that the full name and path of the syntax must be reported in the output. And knowing the file path let's you automatically save the output.
    I know you can get the project's file path but I don't want to go through the trouble of saving the project first.
  • Add an option "Don't prompt to save project".
    I never save projects so I always click "No". But a few times, I clicked "No" a second time when I was prompted to save my syntax!
  • Add an option "Always prompt to save syntax".
    EG will quit if a syntax window is untitled. Often that's just fine but not always.
  • Let the user access logs and output from previous runs
    You can retain the output from each EG run as a separate tab but that would become way too cluttered after 4 or 5 runs. Would it be possible to create a table of contents with older log or output windows?
  • Allow the syntax to be edited by third party editiors