BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Sean_OConnor
Fluorite | Level 6

Folks,

I'm fairly new to SAS so not sure if something like this is possible even. 

I'm working with a dataset of over 1,000,000 individuals. I've come to notice that I have duplicate individuals within my dataset, however, the information which is contained within the variables are different. I wonder thus is it possible to take the second reference of an individual and create x number of new variables with that individual.

Thus I would no longer have dupilicate individuals but instead extra variables for a certain individual. 

I've attached an image of what I'm trying to do which prehaps explains things better than what I've written.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Example.PNG
7 REPLIES 7
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

You can absolutely do this in SAS, but requires som e data step programming. If you haven't acquired that skill yet, I strongly recommend that you take the frees Programming 1 online training.

Also, creating data structures like this is typically awkward. it requires that the analysis/data management steps to follow to take those anomalies into account. So i would strive for to clean the data "once and for all" - determine the golden record/fields.

That said, use a data step with BY, RETAIN and conditional assignment statements. Also, you need an explicit OUTPUT statement at the end of the BY group (hint: last.)

Data never sleeps
Reeza
Super User

Are you sure you only have duplicates and not triplicates or other multiple variations? 

How useful are the repetive records/variables? 

Otherwise consider marking the first recorded so you can easily filter it out in future processes, but leaving your data structure the same otherwise. 

Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

Try next code assumed data sorted by ID and there are x1-x4 variables all of same type

either numeric or alphanumeric;

data want;

set have(rename=(x1=v1 x2=v2 x3=v3 x4=v4));

by ID;

reatain  i x1 - x8;