BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
MilenkoAndreas
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone! I'm kind of new in SAS Guide. Right now Im in the process of shifting excel reports to guide reports.

I have a big problems managing rows in general.  I want to delete rows according to a specific criteria. In the Excel report I sort the matrix with three criterias then I create an extra column with a formula like this: if C1=C2 and D1=D2 and H1=H2, L1= "Yes", "No", after that I filter this column and select only the "Yes" value. Then I delete every row that has the "Yes" value excepting the rows that have a specific value in another column. I guess this is a very standart procedure for an Excel user, but in guide it seems to be more complex. Im not so sure how to do it because I know that the query builder gives you the option to delete duplicated rows but I want to delete rows that are duplicated in some columns not in every column, and besides I want to select which one of that group, not to delete. I would really appreciate any kind of help that I could get. If somebody doesnt get the question I would gladly explain it throughly.

Kind regards,

Milenko

4 REPLIES 4
DBailey
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

You might need to consider a code node and a data step using the lag function.  You would have to sort of flip your criteria from using the next row to criteria using the previous row.  The lag function allows a data step to look at the previous record.

First step would be to sort your dataset as you need and then do something like:

data want (drop= lagc lagd lagh);

set have;

lagc=lag(c);

lagd=lag(d);

lagh=lag(h);

if c=lagc and d=lagd and h=lagh then duprec='Y';

else duprec='N';

if duprec='N' then output;

run;

MilenkoAndreas
Calcite | Level 5

DBailey,

Thank you so much for your help! Im not so sure what a lag function is, but I will google it! :smileygrin:

Thank you so much for your help!

Kind regards,

Milenko

Reeza
Super User