Desktop productivity for business analysts and programmers

Creating running total in EG

N/A

Creating running total in EG

I am new to EG although I am an experienced SAS user. I have a code that I wrote to identify top 50 observations based on my sort criteria. I would like to know how I can accomplish this task in EG without writing the code. Here is the code:

proc sort data=A;
by X Y Z;
run;

data top50;
set A;
by X Y Z;
retain count;
if first.X then count=1;
else count = count+1;
if count <=50;
drop count;
run;

Thanks for your help! if count <=50;
drop count;
run;

Message was edited by: DavidW
N/A

Re: Creating running total in EG

I do this a lot, especially when I need to limit a transpose to 20 things for charting.

1) Use a query to select the columns and basic values/things of interest
2) In the query's sort tap, add the value/thing of interest and set it to descending sort order
3) In the upper rightish area of the query dialog box/window is a drop list/button titled "options"; Select "Options for this Query".
4) In the resulting "Results Options" popup dialog box, near the bottom, select the "Limit output rows:" check box, and put the number of rows desired to be returned in the edit field on the right.
5) Click "Ok" then click "Run"

Let's say you create a query like the following:

select host, command, datetime, max(utilization) as max_of_utilization
from performance_metrics
group by host, command, datetime;

and you want the top 50 commands with the most utilization.
This is easily created in the query form (no code) including the addition of

sort by max_of_utilization descending;

In the query dialog box, you add utilization to the "Select Data" tab and then under the summary column select "MAX" and SAS EG will add a "Computed Column" to the list of columns available. Then on the "Sort Data" tab you add "MAX_OF_Utilization" and select Descending in its "Sort Direction" column.