BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi All,

I am new to SAS EG and I am having trouble coding on one of the components as I have limited experience in programming.

One of the reports which is generated in SAS and is exported to Excel contains the following columns and rows:

Row Number Name Revenue Balance
1 Alex 50 30
5689 Julia 90 45

I need to add two new rows which would be after the 220th row and also the total of the revenue and balance in the SAS report before it is exported to excel.

Thanks,
PH
5 REPLIES 5
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
What is so special about the 220th row?? Also, I'm confused. after row 220, you would want to see one new row or two new rows???? At first I thought you wanted only one...but now, I'm not sure what would be on 2 new rows??? The sum of revenue and balance for rows 1-220 or the sum of revenue and balance for the WHOLE dataset???

Or do you want a subtotal after a group and then a grand total at the bottom of the report before it is exported to Excel??? Both PROC PRINT (LIST Data Task) and PROC REPORT (List Report Task) will generate grand totals and/or subtotals, but they generally work with "grouping" such as BY STATE or BY COUNTRY or some other logical category. Usually, SAS does not arbitrarily allow you to insert a summary line into the "middle" of a detail report, such as you describe.

Can you elaborate a bit more on what you need??? It looks like you could have almost 6000 observations displayed on your report and you want a summary line only after 220 observations????

cynthia
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi Cynthia,

I want to add the top 220 clients :sum of revenue and the balance for some specific purposes required by another team. All we want to do is insert one row or two (does'nt matter as we wanted to leave the 2nd row blank) which would give out the total of the revenue and balance for the top 1 to 220 clients.