BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Analyst
Calcite | Level 5
I hope you'll forgive me the indulgence but I wonder if you could help me with a career dilemma.

Put simply, the day-to-day client service required in my current job just isn't for me. More than that, it's making me miserable. It may have taken me a while to realise it (I'm in my mid 30s) but I'm an analyst. Ask me to be creative in unmasking data patterns and I'm hooked.

Here's the problem: my current role is in giving financial advice and, while my general PC and Excel skills are strong (eg VB coding), I have no knowledge of SAS-like packages. I'm certainly willing to learn, though, and previous research roles in investment theory have reduced the pace at which my technical knowledge has dissipated. (I have a BSc in maths, stats and OR)

Given the above, I guess my questions to you all would be:

• Aside from talking to recruitment consultants, what advice would you give me in trying to get an analytical role?

(Junior SAS Analyst roles at UK retail banks are just one example of the sort of interesting things that I've seen. Also, while I'm not Bill Gates, my wife and I have discussed the major wage drop and we're both fine with it. With apologies for the cliché, we'd rather be happy and comfortable than miserable and wealthier.)

• Given your thoughts on the previous question, how do you think I should upgrade my skills? Would taking holiday from my current job and going on some SAS introductory courses initially suffice (with on-the-job training thereafter)? Or would I need more training to get my foot in the door?

Finally, please feel free to be candid on your views on whether you think I'm being realistic in trying to alter my career path at this point. I'm confident that it would be best for me but am pragmatic enough to realise that consistent advice from others should probably be heeded.

At the risk of presumption, many thanks to you all for your help.

Best,

-- Analyst