BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Adrienne
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm a SAS programmer trying out EG 5.1. I imported by keyboard abbreviations from my SAS 9.2 session and none of them worked. I figured out that they didn't work because they all started with a period ('.cmtmakefmt'). If I changed them to start with '_',  they worked sometimes. In trying to understand why they didn't always work, I learned that I was trying to use them inside comment sections, e.g. /* */ If I used them outside and put semi colons after them,they would be recalled.

Is there way to set up EG so that I can use abbreviations where the editor doesn't care where you are in the code, it just allows you to stick in code, like it does in the Enhanced Editor in SAS DMS.

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

I've verified the behavior you see -- abbreviations don't appear to trigger inside comment blocks.  In EG 4.3 and later, the editor abbreviations are tied to the code completion feature, and code completion doesn't trigger inside of a comment block.

As a workaround, you can use Program->Editor Macro->Macros to see a list of your abbreviations and assign any of them to a shortcut key sequence.  These will work even inside of a comment block.

macros.png

Chris

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Fugue
Quartz | Level 8

I believe you are referring to the BASE SAS command line functionality (using SAS Windows) re: keyboard shortcuts? There is no similiar command line functionality in EG.

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager