BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
matovua
Calcite | Level 5

I am relatively new to predictive modelling, I have predicated churn for a telcom customers. I developed the model for May 2012 and submitted the scores to the same data. I had about 9% customers predicted as high potential churners. I was disappointed that all the predicted churners are still present even up to now.

I subjected the data to churn scorres that were developed by an expert who visted my office and the results were the same. the missclassification rate 18%.

Thank you for your help.

Where can i improve to have a better churm model.

2 REPLIES 2
Reeza
Super User

How was time to churn built into the models?

There isn't any information on the variables included in the model which I would assume necessary to make any comments BUT I'm not familiar with Enterprise Miner. 

matovua
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you Reeza,

Below is what i went through to construct the model.

getting the churn variable

1. I got all active subscribers for may 2012. Checked all that are still present in August = Non-churn and those not present are the churn.

2. Using the churn variable for may I constructed the churn prediction variables using data for the months of Mar,April, and May. With these I got usage statistics per susbsciber for each month, constructed means, ratios and I ended up with about 500 variables.

the data used included revenues for voice, sms, data, value added services etc broken into on-same-network, other-networks, international.

3. I subjected the constructed data to the model development process with SAS enterprise miner. The model had the following nodes

a. sample node:  with rare event oversampled to 25% from 4.9% using stratified sampling (total sample is about one million subscribers).

b.data partition = training 50%, varidation 30% and testing 20%

c.Principle components and variable transformation using the distribution.