BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Hi All,

I am pretty new to modeling, I am struck with over 900 Interval input variables. I need some ideas to reduce them. Is there any way to find correlation between these variables so that redundancy can be handled? I am using Miner and Guide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gergely_batho
SAS Employee

Hi Minal,

SAS is able to calculate the correlation matrix of those 800 variable. But as you already noted, it is quite hard to look at 800x800/2 coefficients manually.

One way to handle it to calculate the first K principal components (PCA Node in Enterprise Miner), and use them in a predictive model. PCA is based on the correlation matrix. Instead of the original variables you will have K factor scores.

PCA factors and factor scores are hard to interpret, because each factor is a mixture (linear combination) of all variables. With variable clustering you also get factors but each of them depends only on some of the variables. Variable clustering is also based on correlations. It iteratively calculates PCA on the original variables (and on linear combinations of variables).

You can keep 1 variable from each cluster (as you described), or you can keep a linear combination of the variables in the cluster. The former is more interpretable, the latter is more “precise” in some sense.

Gergely

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

Hey Minal,

Enterprise Miner is really easy to learn. Use the reference help a lot (press F1 on your keyboard) and google for white papers on the most common Analytics problems you are trying to solve.

Take a look at this thread where we list a good number of ways to do variable selection: .

Good luck!

Miguel

MinalMMurkhande
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Miguel,