BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SIlver_Geo
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am new in SAS Miner and I am trying to understand the following:

1)Why when I use an interactive group node I have as an output both Grouping and WoE variables?

2)Why the Regression Node uses both group and woe variables in the final model?

I am trying to do a coarse classification and then a logistic regression.

I am attaching a screenshot of the project, Interactive Group node & Regression Node settings and the output of the regression. Am I doing something wrong?

Thank you in advance!

Screen Shot 2014-05-10 at 00.26.21.pngScreen Shot 2014-05-10 at 00.24.54.pngScreen Shot 2014-05-10 at 00.26.44.png
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

Hi Silver Geo,

If I understand the Interactive Grouping and Scorecard nodes correctly,

1) You get both the groupings and the weights of evidence in case you have a preference to fit a logistic regression using either of them. Notice that the fourth train property in the Scorecard node is Analysis Variables and you can specify it as WOE (by defualt) or Group.

Most SAS Enterprise Miner customers would use the WOE.

2) The Scorecard node is set to automatically use either the WOE or Groups. This is not the case with the Regression node. The Regression node gives you the flexibility of additional options like the type of regression and the link function, but you have to also take control of the inputs that you use. A case where you might like to take this approach would be when you are interested in a linear regression, but you would have to use either the WOE or the Group variables as inputs.