BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
beibeiwhy
Calcite | Level 5

I used EMnier to do oversampling. Th original target variable is binary with proportion as below:

Variable            Value              Count      Percent  

Target                   0                   252       32.7273
Target                   1                   518       67.2727

After Oversampling, I got:

Data=SAMPLE

Variable     Value     Count      Percent   

Target       0             252          50
Target       1             252          50

The sample size Target='1' is reduced from 518 to 252. This is not the result I want.

I want to increase the target ='0' sample size from 252 to 518.

Does anyone know hot to solove this problem?

Any suggestion is appreciated!

4 REPLIES 4
beibeiwhy
Calcite | Level 5
I'm new to EMiner. Really need help with this.
Thanks a lot
JasonXin
SAS Employee
Hi, In EM, see attached picture. Once you load the data into EM, the YES group (in the picture) should be 1 in your case and NO group should be your 0 group. Count=999 should be your 518 and Count=967 should be your 252. To the right, in replace of 0.5081, enter 1. In replace of 0.4919, enter 2.055555556 (=518/252). In plain English, doing so you are telling EM to treat the 518 1 group as it is. And treat the 252 0 group as if there are 2.055555556*252~518. Logically. Hope this helps? Jason Xin
priorsem.jpg
beibeiwhy
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Jason, your reply is very helpful. So using this prior decision, I don't need to use the oversampling node any more?
JasonXin
SAS Employee