BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Saszealot
Calcite | Level 5
Hi
Guys how good is this book to help me preapare for the Certification in enterprise miner 5? Predictive Modeling with SAS Enterprise Miner: Practical Solutions for Business Applications. By:Kattamuri Sarma

Thanks.
7 REPLIES 7
jonathan_jmp
Calcite | Level 5
Abe,

Earlier this year I passed the Enterprise Miner certification. I prepared for it using the course notes for the SAS Education course called Applied Analytics Using SAS Enterprise Miner 5. The course is designed to prepare you for the certification exam. I took the course as well. Before taking the course, I had no prior experience using EM. The course notes are called Applied Analytics Using SAS Enterprise Miner 5.3, and are available on Amazon, maybe on ebay as well. The are available from SAS as well. In addition to taking the course, I studied through the book twice. I highly recommend the course notes as a good way to prepare for the exam. With no prior experience using EM, the course and course notes enabled me to get a 87% on the exam.

From what I can tell, the other book you mention probably does cover most of the material found on the exam. If you have prior experience with EM, that book may be all you need. Go to SAS' website and review the list of exam content. Compare that to what is in the book; if the book covers all the material, then you are probably fine. Message was edited by: jonathan@jmp
Saszealot
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Jonathan@jmp,

Congtrats on your passing of the SEM cert. I planned to purchase the Applied Analytics Using SAS Enterprise Miner 5.3 ($20.83, amazon price) unfortunately in my school we haven't got the Sas Enterprise miner software license yet.

How can I get the software, to price,without going through the SAS OnDemand? I also planned to purchase this book Data Mining Using SAS® Enterprise Miner: A Case Study Approach, Second Edition.
Mantagon
Calcite | Level 5
Jonathan,