BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Hi All,

I'm working on a creating a predictive model, and would like to explore the data (there's a LOT of it) before starting the actual modeling work. I went through one of the EM courses (Applied Analytics Using SAS Enterprise Miner) but found it didn't explain the interpretation of the SOM/Kohonen node.

This may just be because I'm new to EM and data analysis, and if so I'd appreciate if someone could point me in the direction of a resource to learn how to interpret SOM/Kohonen maps, but from my searching and reading (a few textbooks recommended for neural networks) I'm still unsure of the meaning of the nodes output.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

In this article the authors use the Segment Profile node to interpret the segments that the SOM/K node outputs.

I hope this helps,

Miguel

http://www.iasri.res.in/sscnars/data_mining/8-som%20with%20e-miner.pdf

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

In this article the authors use the Segment Profile node to interpret the segments that the SOM/K node outputs.

I hope this helps,

Miguel

http://www.iasri.res.in/sscnars/data_mining/8-som%20with%20e-miner.pdf

genericuserid111
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for your reply!

Unfortunately, the article doesn't explain *what* the Segment Profile nodes results mean. It may just be that I'm unfamiliar with data analysis, but information about things like "Petal width" or "Som Dimension2" doesn't really mean anything to me.

I've found that most tutorials or explanations of EM simply show you how to perform a specific task without providing the information of why. Again though, it's very possible that I just am lacking the knowledge needed to make use of the tool.

gergely_batho
SAS Employee

Hi,