BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
DavidBesaev
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi! 

It's my first encounter with the CCC. I'm trying to figure out the outflow model. I am a beginner and met this clustering assessment. Can you explain in simple terms how best to interpret this estimate?
I'm not very good at English specialized literature, find SAS TR A-108, but can't understand main point.

image.png

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MikeStockstill
SAS Employee

Hello DavidBesaev -

Here is a link to the technical report that you mentioned.

A-108 Cubic Clustering Criterion

http://support.sas.com/kb/22/addl/fusion_22540_1_a108_5903.pdf

The best place to look for information about how to interpret is in the Conclusion section, printed page 49. Here is a brief summarization:

• Peaks in the plot of the cubic clustering criterion with values greater than 2 or 3 indicate good clusters;
  • Peaks with values between 0 and 2 indicate possible clusters.
  • Large negative values of the CCC can indicate outliers.

Pages 40-48 give some examples of interpretations.

Another good place to look for interpretation examples is the Getting Started section, and the Examples section, of the chapter The CLUSTER Procedure.

SAS/STAT User's Guide - Procedures

https://support.sas.com/documentation/onlinedoc/stat/indexproc.html

Have a great day.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
MikeStockstill
SAS Employee

Hello DavidBesaev -

Here is a link to the technical report that you mentioned.

A-108 Cubic Clustering Criterion

http://support.sas.com/kb/22/addl/fusion_22540_1_a108_5903.pdf

The best place to look for information about how to interpret is in the Conclusion section, printed page 49. Here is a brief summarization:

• Peaks in the plot of the cubic clustering criterion with values greater than 2 or 3 indicate good clusters;