BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Lychee
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to the SAS EM. I have a dataset contains over 3 million rows and around 100 variables. I would like to explore the distribution of one of these 100 variables. But each time I run a histogram, it will give me a sample distribution of the whole dataset, which means it only fetches several thousand data points in the dataset. Is there any property I should change in order to get a full picutre of my dataset?  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

Eminer in enterprise miner configuration is running behind the curtains a workspace-server.
You should also have EGuide and with that accessing the same workspace-server.
With that you can use the basic SAS coding like means/univariate. Eminer is based on the Semma approach.  

There should be no limitations on that part of the workspaceserver.   (usermod files maintained by your sas admin).
If there are limitations / restrictions that is not good as you have to go into discussions to get your work done.

If you look at Eminer you will find a code an log tab. That is, you can code old classic SAS-code while you are running Eminer.

Eminer has a lot of documentation that is in the on-line help of the product.:  (this is 13.1 manual)

Setting the Sample Properties

Before creating graphs, you should sample the data set. Sampling reduces the processing time that is required to create the graphs and is especially important if you are creating graphs from a large data set. on page 387 documentation.

If you want to specify a custom fetch size (such as 50,000 observations) to be used in Explore windows during an Enterprise Miner session, you can use the EM_EXPLOREOBS_MAX macro variable to submit a statement via Program Manager or your start file:

%let EM_EXPLOREOBS_MAX=50000;