BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Hank2015
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to SAS. I would like to do a network analysis, and it seems that SAS EM can do it now. I read some post that they explain the concept and how to do it for example, by extracting data from Facebook or twitter like this http://blogs.sas.com/content/sascom/2014/02/19/exploring-social-networks-with-sas-visual-analytics/  and this How to Use the Link Analysis Node as a Clustering Tool in SAS® Enterprise Miner™

My issue is that I couldn't find it How exactly to do it in EM in steps !!  I have raw data in a table (csv format) that rows contain samples (27) and columns contain data about those samples (70). Clustering would do what I need and I have done it,  but I also visualize such connections by network analysis as it has cool representation.

So for the first step  I assume I need to import the raw data in EM to do network analysis but counted figure it out. Sorry if it is a lame Q.

Thanks in advance

2 REPLIES 2
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

Hey Hank,

There are a lot of videos and papers that will help you catch the learning curve really fast.

Please describe your data and what you are trying to visualize and people will have more specific suggestions. Right now I am not completely sure if you want to use EM to visualize your clusters or if you want to do link analysis.

Below how you do link analysis for the first time and an alternative that I really like for visualizing networks.

If this is your very first EM project, spend some minutes watching Getting Started with SAS Enterprise Miner: Setting Up an Enterprise Miner Project.

You can skip the part where they create a Data Source because you can use the File Import node to import your csv. I personally prefer creating data sources the way they do it in the video, but the File Import will get you started faster.

Steps for Link Analysis