BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
davidzhang8828
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all,

I am a beginner at SAS. In my project, tried to run a piece of code to programmatically create a data set from an existing one with a new variable that has a value conditional on another existing variable. This is the code I ran:

data EMPDUP;
set EMWS1.Ids3_DATA;
MED_DUM = .;
If MEDV >= 25 THEN MED_DUM = 1;
run;

It runs the SAS code node fine, but I just can't seem to find where this EMPDUP dataset is. Any help would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AndrewHowell

Unless you're playing around with some advanced SAS options, when you create a table without a library reference, the default location for the newly created table is the WORK library.

So the following two statements are effectively identical:

data EMPDUP;
	set EMWS1.Ids3_DATA;
	MED_DUM = .;
run;

data WORK.EMPDUP;
	set EMWS1.Ids3_DATA;
	MED_DUM = .;
run;

As to where your table is PHYSICALLY located, run the following code to reveal the location of your WORK library location (Note: This location will most likely be different every time you run SAS)

%put %sysfunc(pathname(WORK));

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
AndrewHowell

Unless you're playing around with some advanced SAS options, when you create a table without a library reference, the default location for the newly created table is the WORK library.

So the following two statements are effectively identical:

data EMPDUP;
	set EMWS1.Ids3_DATA;
	MED_DUM = .;
run;

data WORK.EMPDUP;
	set EMWS1.Ids3_DATA;
	MED_DUM = .;
run;

As to where your table is PHYSICALLY located, run the following code to reveal the location of your WORK library location (Note: This location will most likely be different every time you run SAS)

%put %sysfunc(pathname(WORK));
davidzhang8828
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Andrew,