BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bpearce
Calcite | Level 5

I'm working with a very large data set (over 15 million observations and over 1000 variables). I would like to count the number of non-zero entries for a handful of variables from within my data set.  For example, in the table below VAR 1 has 3 occurrences, and VAR 2 has two occurrences.  I'm a beginner, so please provide some explanation if possible.  I appreciate any help!

Client #Var 1Var 2

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Ah, ok, so you want to check if the sum per column is 0.  Then your best off checking one of the procedures associated with that.  Proc means, or proc summary.  Say:

proc means data=have;

var var1-var1000;

output out=results mean=mean;

run;

Then if the resulting mean for the variable is 0 you know they are all zeroes. 

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
M_Maldonado
Barite | Level 11

If you have SAS IML, there is one really fast way to count missing/not missing.

Look at this post: http://blogs.sas.com/content/iml/2011/09/19/count-the-number-of-missing-values-for-each-variable.htm...

Do you have HP procs and a grid license? That is another route.

I hope it helps,

Miguel

Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

I'm sure there will be some good array solutions, but this is the first thing that came to mind.  If it is only a handful of variables it's a viable solution.

data have;

infile cards dsd;

input Client Var1 Var2;

cards;

;

run;

data want;

set have;

count = sum((var1 ne 0)+(var2 ne 0));

run;

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Hi,

Yes, you can use arrays.  This would be preferred if there were many variables. 

data have;

client=1; var1=245; var2=2696; output;

client=2; var1=0; var2=0; output;

run;

data want (drop=i);

set have;

array list{*} var1 var2;  

count_miss=0;